Home » Programs » Real Estate Salesperson » Ohio » How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Ohio

How to Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License in Ohio

Ohio State Required Salesperson Pre-Licensing Hours: 120 hours

Hondros College Ohio Course Hours Offered: 120 hours

Step 1: Meet the general Ohio real estate license requirements as outlined on the Ohio Division of Real Estate Website.

  • Be at least 18 years of age when applying for a license.
  • Must not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. Not have violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the past two years as determined by a court of law or violated any rules of the Ohio Division of Real Estate. In some circumstances, it is possible to have a conviction or violation disregarded, which would allow you to sit for the exam. The Division may only make a determination with respect to a conviction or violation if you file an application. For additional information on this process, contact the Division directly or review the additional information found on the Division’s website.

Step 2: Complete the approved 120 hours of pre-licensing education.

At Hondros, you can choose to take the required education through our self-paced online course format, our instructor-led Livestream option, or a combination of both! For more information about Livestream courses and how they work, click here.

Step 3: Select a sponsoring broker. Need help finding a broker? Attend one of our Career Expos!

Step 4: Submit your Salesperson Examination Application & pay the application fee.

Please Note: The Ohio Division of Real Estate now requires real estate applicants to have their fingerprints processed for background checks within ten days after filing their application. If you have completed a background check prior to submitting your application, please call the ODRE at 614-466-4100 to review your status.

Step 5: Schedule your State License Exam & pass with a 70% or higher.

All Hondros College courses are approved by the Ohio Division of Real Estate. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Ohio Real Estate License Exam.

How long does it take to get an Ohio real estate license?

On average, it takes between two (2) – three (3) months to get an Ohio real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 120 hours of pre-licensing courses, pass your licensing examinations, the time it takes you to complete the application process and application processing times.

What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Ohio?

Per Hondros College policy, the 120-hour pre-license coursework and school exam for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of enrollment/purchase date. Student may audit any specific session(s) one additional time within the 6-month period. There are 18 required session that make up the 120 hours. Each session is independent of one another and may be taken in any order. Livestream and Classroom students who need to miss a class or customize their class schedule can do so at any time in the online student account. Required education includes:

  • Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours)
  • Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours)
  • Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
  • Real Estate Finance (20 hours)

How do I register for the Ohio real estate licensing state exam?

After your application has been processed, you will receive a Candidate Information Bulletin with instructions for scheduling your test. Real Estate state exams are scheduled by calling PSI Exams at 1-800-733-9267 or by visiting their website at psiexams.com. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. At Hondros College, we offer CompuCram, the best online exam prep program in the industry to help you prepare for the Ohio real estate licensing exam. Exam prep may be purchased separately or as part of your package. CompuCram will help you learn at your own pace and get tools to set you up for success in your future career.

To apply for an Ohio Real Estate License, you must have the following documents:

  • Original Salesperson Application & Fee, including sponsoring broker signature.
  • Pre-Licensure Education Certificate- the 120-hour certificate
  • Criminal records check of both state and FBI records.
  • Fingerprints submission
  • Proof of Legal Presence (Front & Back)
  • Broker Hire form *if applicable

Any person who has not been licensed as a real estate salesperson within a four-year period immediately preceding his/her current application for the salesperson’s exam must have completed the required education within a 10-year period immediately preceding the current salesperson application.

How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?

Hondros College offers fingerprint kits through FastFingerprints to help you fulfill this requirement from the comfort of your own home. For more information about our fingerprinting options, click here.

FastFingerprints is pleased to be able to assist state and local agencies with the licensing process by transmitting fingerprints to the Ohio BCI for civilian background checks to support industries included, but not limited to Real Estate, Home Inspection, Notary, Appraisal, Insurance, Healthcare, and Nursing.

How do I submit my Ohio Salesperson application?

Once the division has received your information, they will process your application and send your information to the testing vendor. Mail the completed Salesperson Examination Application with required documents and $81 nonrefundable check or money order, made payable to the Ohio Division of Real Estate, to the following address:

Ohio Division of Commerce
Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing
77 South High Street, 20th floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Please Note: The Ohio Division of Real Estate now requires real estate applicants to have their fingerprints processed for background checks within ten days after filing their application. If you have completed a background check prior to submitting your application, please call the ODRE at 614-466-4100 to review your status.

Does Ohio offer reciprocity?

Ohio may recognize Out-of-State licenses. To view specific Out-of-State license Recognition requirements and forms please visit the Ohio Division of Real Estate’s website.

Individuals seeking licensure through Out-of-State License Recognition must:

  • Be a resident of a state that has a reciprocal agreement with Ohio.
  • Hold an active salesperson’s license in that state for at least one year
  • Take an Ohio Real Estate Law Course at an institution of higher education.
  • Be affiliated with an Ohio licensed broker.
  • Currently licensed in another state for at least one year
  • Have completed approved real estate education in the other state
  • Passed a real estate license examination in another state
  • An applicant has not had a license or certificate revoked or voluntarily surrendered in any other state or country.
  • An applicant has not had any discipline imposed by another regulating entity, and has no pending complaint, allegation, or investigation.
  • Submit the Salesperson Reciprocity Examination Application with $81.00 fee.
  • A Consent to Service of Process form.
  • A letter of good standing from the state of licensure.

Regulatory notes

The state requires a minimum amount of seat time in the course content. Our Online and Livestream course platforms monitor this requirement for each student. For Livestream and Classroom students who cannot make a class on time or need to miss a class they may reschedule for a later date and time in the online student account.

Students cannot receive credit for more than 10 hours (2 classes) a day. For students completing the online course, you may only access one session at a time, once that session is complete you may move on to the next. Each class is independent of one another and may be taken in any order.

Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Once you complete your 120 hours, Hondros College will email you an electronic certificate of completion, your certificate may also be accessed anytime in your online student account. You will need to present your certificate at the time of your state exam as well when you apply for your license with the Ohio Division of Real Estate. Course completion dates are recorded using Eastern Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.

Ohio Division of Real Estate
Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing
77 South High Street, 20th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6133

Have a question? Call us at 1-888-HONDROS or chat with us. We’re here to help!


You are now leaving Hondros.com

Cancel