Home » Programs » Insurance » Steps to Licensure

Steps to Licensure

Steps to Licensure

Step 1

Pre-licensing education requirements

You must complete a pre-licensing course prior to taking a Florida Insurance exam as required by the Florida Department of Insurance. Here are the required hours that must be completed prior to taking your exam and obtaining your license:

  • Life, Variable Annuity and Health  – 40 hours
  • Life and Variable Annuity – 40 hours
  • Health – 40 hours

All our online courses are approved with the state of Florida . Once you review all sections of this course and complete all Pre-License Certification Exams with a minimum score of 70%, your Certificate of Completion will immediately be available for you to print off directly from our site.  You will need your certificate to register for your exam.

You must take this certificate with you to the exam, or you will not be admitted to sit for your test.  Your course completion certificate will be good for one year from the date of your completion of this course.


Step 2

Pass your licensing exam

Exam Fee: $42 per exam.

Schedule Exam: Before scheduling a Florida insurance exam, students must earn a Certificate of Completion. Florida insurance exams are administered by Pearson VUE. To schedule an exam, candidates may visit their website here. For any questions during the exam registration process, please call (888) 274-2020.

Passing Score Required: 70%.

Step 3

Apply for License/Get Fingerprinted

Apply for License: For questions regarding how to obtain a license after the examination has been passed, candidates should contact the Florida Department of Financial Services at (850) 413-3137 or visit them online at www.MyFloridaCFO.com/division/agents. After passing the examination, candidates must apply for their license within one year. After one year, the Department will require the candidate to take and pass their licensing exams again as well as repeat a pre-licensing course, as the certificate of completion is expired. The state of Florida requires candidates to get fingerprinted as part of the licensure process.

Getting Fingerprinted: The state of Florida requires that all candidates get fingerprinted. Please visit the department’s website http://www.MyFloridaCFO.com/Division/Agents for more information on fingerprinting. Once there, click on “Fingerprinting”.

Open House Events

Don't miss out on this opportunity to learn about the great career educations offered at Hondros College! You will hear from an expert panel in each career field and find out how you can get your new career started. Sign up for this free event here!

Register here

We are the local college in your community

Hondros College offers real-world career training for the adult-student looking to advance or start their new career. Find out how we can help you.

Learn More

Have a question? Call us at 1-888-HONDROS or chat with us. We’re here to help!

You are now leaving Hondros.com