Is Mortgage Interest Tax Break Getting Axed?

Blog, Mortgage Lending

Major Changes Made to the SAFE MLO Test


On April 1, 2013 NMLS launched the Uniform State Test or UST. This is the first major change to SAFE MLO Test requirements since the SAFE MLO tests were launched in July, 2009.The UST will become a new domain or section in the National Test Component. This new domain will include 25 questions which will bring the length of the National Test Component to 125 questions of which 115 will be scored and ten will be un-scored.

In addition, a short version of the UST, called the Stand-alone UST, will be introduced and it will include 25 questions, all of which will be scored. The new UST material tests applicants on their knowledge of high level state-related content that is based on the SAFE Act and the CSBS/AARMR Model State Law (MSL) which many states used to implement the SAFE Act.

The UST replaces the state-specific test components for the states that adopt it. Therefore, by passing the National with Uniform State Content or the Stand-alone UST, a candidate can satisfy the testing requirements for licensure in those adopting states, and any states that adopt in the future.

Only 21 states will adopt this change on April 1 and 4 on July 1. This leaves 33 states or agencies that have not adopted this change; they may choose to never make the switch. For the states who do not adopt, the MLO will need to still take the New National Test with UST exam and the state specific exam.

Candidates who enroll for the National Test on or before March 31, 2013 should use the original National Test Component content outline. Candidates who enroll for the National Test on or after April 1, 2013 should use the National Test Component with UST content outline.

On April 1, 2013, 20 state agencies adopted the UST and several more will do so on July 1, 2013 and October 1, 2013. The remaining state agencies may elect to adopt the UST at a future date, but they are not required to do so. State agencies which choose not to adopt the UST will continue to require applicants to take and pass the current state specific test components.

Click here to view the list of states who will be adopting the UST.

Launch Your Career

Select your education program

Select your state

Select your course