Ohio Mortgage License - CE Requirements
Ohio Mortgage Lending Continuing Education Requirements
How many hours are required?
Loan Officers and Operations Managers working for a Mortgage Broker in the State of Ohio are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS approved continuing education annually.
What courses are required?
You may take any NMLS approved CE course to complete your 8-hours of continuing education. The SAFE Act requires individual mortgage loan originators (MLOs) to complete 8-hours of NMLS approved continuing education (CE) annually. The 8-hours of continuing education must include 3-hours in federal law, 2-hours of ethics (to include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2-hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, and 1-hour of elective.
What are my course options?
You are able to take your courses in the Classroom or Online.
What are the attendance requirements?
Attendance in mortgage continuing education classes is mandated by the State of Ohio. Arriving late will prevent you from receiving credit for the course you are attending. A majority of state regulators will prevent an MLO from submitting an application for licensure renewal if they have not completed CE. Since it may take as long as 7 days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly advised not to wait until a state agency’s deadline to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.