Steps to Licensure
Steps to Licensure
Pre-licensing education requirements
You must complete a pre-licensing course prior to taking an Colorado Insurance exam as required by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies. Here are the required hours that must be completed prior to taking your exam and obtaining your license:
- Life and Health – 90 hours (80 plus 10 of Ethics, Principles and Regulation)
- Life Insurance Only – 50 hours (40 plus 10 of Ethics, Principles and Regulation)
- Health Insurance Only – 50 hours (40 plus 10 of Ethics, Principles and Regulation)
- Property and Casualty – 50 hours (40 plus 10 of Ethics, Principles and Regulation)
- Personal Lines – 50 hours (40 plus 10 of Ethics, Principles and Regulation)
All our online courses are approved with the state of Colorado. Once you review all sections of this course and complete all Pre-License Certification Exams with a minimum score of 70%, your Certificate of Completion will immediately be available for you to print off directly from our site. You will need your certificate to register for your exam.
You must take this certificate with you to the exam, or you will not be admitted to sit for your test. Your course completion certificate will be good for one year from the date of your completion of this course.
Pass your licensing exam
Exam Fee: The fee for one examination session is $73. Candidates that take both the combined Life and Health exam or the combined Property and Casualty exam in the same session will be charged a single exam fee of $73.
Schedule Exam: Colorado insurance exams are administered by Pearson VUE. To schedule an exam, candidates may call Pearson VUE toll free at (800) 274-2616 or visit their website here.
Passing Score Required: Pass / Fail – Each question is scored based off of the level of difficulty (if a passing score is not achieved on all parts of the exam, only the portion which was failed need be re-taken and paid for in full).
Apply for License/Get Fingerprinted
Apply for License: For questions regarding how to obtain a license after the examination has been passed, candidates should contact the State of Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies at (303) 894-7499 or visit them online at www.dora.state.co.us/insurance. After passing the examination, candidates must apply for their license within one year. After one year, the Department will require the candidate to take and pass their licensing exams again. Therefore, candidates will also be required to retake a pre-licensing course, as the certificate of completion will be expired.
Getting Fingerprinted: The state of Colorado does not require candidates to get fingerprinted as part of the licensure process.